Academic Senate

Moorpark College Academic Senate consists of all full-time and part-time faculty.  The business of the Senate is conducted by the Senate Council and committees of the Senate.  The Senate meets every first, third, and fifth Tuesdays from 2:30 PM - 4:00 PM in the CCCR.  Guests are invited to attend and can make public comments at 2:30pm, when the meeting begins.

Academic Senate Statement of Faculty Ethics

The Senate's primary responsibilities are to make recommendations for policies in the following areas, as defined by Education Code Section 53200:

  1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites
  2. Degree and certificate requirements
  3. Grading policies
  4. Educational program development
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
  6. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles
  7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
  9. Processes for program review
  10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
  11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon.

We adhere to the Moorpark College Mission Statement:

With a "students first" philosophy, Moorpark College empowers its diverse community of learners to complete their goals for academic transfer, basic skills, and career technical education. Moorpark College integrates instruction and student services, collaborates with industry and educational partners, and promotes a global perspective.

Academic Senate Council 2018-19

Academic Senate Council Executive Board

  • Nenagh Brown, President. (805) 378-1400 x1748
  • Erik Reese, Vice-President (805) 553-1488
  • Renée Butler, Secretary  (805) 378-4726
  • Ruth Bennington, Treasurer (805) 553-4118

Academic Senate Council department representatives

  1. ACCESS: Jolie Bernal / Silva Arzunyan
  2. Athletics: Vance Manakas / Mike Stuart
  3. Behavioral Sciences: Dani Vieira / Kari Meyers
  4. Business Administration: Josepha Baca / Reet Sumal
  5. Chemistry / Earth Sciences: Tiffany Pawluk / Deanna Franke 
  6. Child Development: Cindy Sheaks-McGowan / Shannon Coulter
  7. Counseling: Chuck Brinkman / Jodi Dickey
  8. EATM: Gary Wilson / Cindy Wilson
  9. English / ESL: Sydney Sims / Jerry Mansfield
  10. EOPS: Marnie Melendez / Angie Rodriguez
  11. Health Education / Kinesiology: Remy McCarthy / Adam Black
  12. Health Sciences: Michelle Dieterich / Dalila Sankaran
  13. Library: Mary LaBarge
  14. Life Sciences: Jazmir Hernandez / Audrey Chen
  15. Mathematics: Chris Copeland / Curtis Paul
  16. Media Art/ Comm Studies: Jenna Patronete / Nicole Block
  17. Performing Arts: John Loprieno / Nathan Bowen
  18. Physics / Astronomy / Engineering / CS: Ronald Wallingford / Scarlet Relle
  19. Social Sciences: Matthew Morgan / Susan Kinkella / Rex Edwards
  20. Student Health Center: Sharon Manakas / Silva Arzunyan
  21. Visual Arts: Svetlana Kasalovic / Cynthia Minet
  22. World Languages: Helga Winkler / Alejandra Valenzuela
  23. Part-Time Faculty Rep: Felix Masci / Dan Darby / Jennifer Lawler
  24. AFT Rep (non-voting): Hugo Hernandez
  25. CTE Liaison (non-voting): Josepha Baca
  26. GP Liaison (non-voting):  Beth Miller
  27. Committee co-chairs (non-voting)
  28. Associated Students Liaison (non-voting): Cecilia Nguyen